Friday, 13 April 2012

British India

How long did the British rule India? Who preceded the British? When did India gain its Independence.

At the turn of the 19th to 20th century, British India consisted of eight provinces that were administered either by a Governor or a Lieutenant-Governor.

The major provinces are:

The Indian subcategories of Indian between 1891 and 1931 are given by Charles Hirshman’s publication of 1987 which appears in Dr Farish Ahmad-Noor’s book What Your Teacher Didn’t Tell You, The Annexe Lectures (Vol. 1, 2009, pp. 76–77).

There were ten Indian subcategories by race in 1931: Tamils, Telegu, Malayali, Punjabi, Indians from United Provinces, Burmese, Bengali, Indians from Bombay, Bihari, and Nepali. The Indians from the United Provinces and Bombay were not specified but they could be Maharashtrians or other.

Tanmil Nadu - Tamils
Telegu --> Telegu?
Malayalam --> Malayali
Punjab --> Punjabi 
Indians from the United Provinces --> who are they? /Madras/Chennai = HQ of British East India Coy.
Burma --> Burmese
Bengal --> Bengali
Indians from Bombay/Mumbai --> who are they? = Marathas, Kunbis, Konkanis and Marathas NOS
Bihar --> Bihari
Nepal --> Nepali
The population of Bombay was 25.5 million in 1901. By faith Bombay had Hindu, Muslim, Jain, Zoroastrian and Christians. The Bombay people comprised the Marathas (predominant caste), Kunbis, Konkanis and Marathas not otherwise specified (NOS).

The United Provinces became a province of the newly independent India in 1947; upon the coming into force of the new Constitution of India on 26 January 1950, it became a state by the name of Uttar Pradesh. In 2000 part of the state was detached to form the new state of Uttaranchal, since renamed as Uttarakhand.

United Province